Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Quilting for the Linus Project November 14, 2012

I have a soft place in my heart for children and understand the comfort of a special blanket. In fact I had one growing up, but sadly I took it everywhere with me so it got very worn out. My Mom found the Linus project in some searches online and we were both interested in it.

For those of you who do not know about this project, they accept donated blankets and give them to children who need them. For example an elementary school teacher in Sonoma County passed away during the school year. The class was in distress so they donated a blanket to each child for comfort and to have something to remember the teacher by.

I wanted to be a part of this so I took a quilted purse pattern that I had and used it for a quilt pattern. The pattern had about five different size rectangles that put together make a larger rectangle. I measured all of the pieces and figured out how many squares of each I would need to great an infant size quilt.

The first quilt I made was too small and I learned that my sewing machine would not sew the bias tape round the edges to seal the blanket but it is still pretty and soft.

The next three quilts that I made were the correct size and I mastered finished the blanket. I placed the front and the back pieces together, inside out, and sewed all edges leaving a small opening at one corner. I pulled the quilt through the hole until right side out. Then I hand sewed the hold closed. Using a large needle my Mom showed me how to use yarn and add the finishing touches.

I am not a master quilter by any means but I was proud to donate these.

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

2 Responses to “Quilting for the Linus Project”

  1. Leonardo Says:

    Someone necessarily assist to make seriously posts I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and
    thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular put up incredible.

    Fantastic task!

  2. heya I’m laura I’m such a silly girl but I still really appreciated your work


Leave a Reply

