Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Guest Room or Craft Room? That is the Question Here! November 28, 2012

Yesterday we signed the escrow papers for our new house. The house is a two bedroom with one bathroom. We are a newly married couple who are not planning on having kids and my husband kindly gave me the room to decorate. So the question arises .. What do we do with the spare room? Should it be a guest room or a craft room?

Well why not both!!

I grew up in the middle child of three. My sister and I shared a room growing up so I learned how to keep things organized. Our play area was in my Mom’s shop outside. She crafted wreaths, address plaques and all sorts of wonderful things. We used to play while she crafted.

This love for crafting is now a family trait and even my two closest friends share the trait with me. So with all my memories in hand it is time to start planning out my spare/craft room.

First thing that comes to mind for me it the theme. Flower gardens, dragonflies and butterflies always make me smile. They make me feel free to be creative and share myself with everything that I do. My husband Ashlin recommended I use them in this room. Although I think it might be partly to make sure that there are not dragonflies all over the house lol!

Now that I have a theme in mind, I need to get an idea of the layout of the room. We decided to put a futon in the room because it will conserve space when there are no guests staying over but it is there for any guests we do have.

Some of our good friends moved into a house about a year ago and this summer I got to see her craft room. She used two IKEA tables to give her a work space which utilized the corner as well.

Unfortunately, we do not have that kind of space so I am not able to do that. Lucky for us that my parents started collecting furniture in the attic for all three of us kids to have when we bought a house. There is a wonderful desk that supplies a large work space but when cleaned up can be used as a desk for any guests. With all the ideas in my head this is how I envision the room to look.

This layout leaves room for the futon to fold out into a queen size bed, while also leaving room for an additional folding table to be set up in the middle of the room. The table can be hidden under the futon so it is close by for use.

When we get moved in I will show you the progress as this idea comes to life!

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

2 Responses to “Guest Room or Craft Room? That is the Question Here!”

  1. Remarkable! Its genuinely amazing article, I have got much clear idea about from this article.

  2. Shirely Arnsberger Says:

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!


Leave a Reply

