Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Handmade Wood Bead Christmas Tree Garland December 17, 2012

I have seen a lot of Christmas trees with garlands and ribbons on them and it made me think about what will be on our tree. In the past I have not had either of those to add so it got me to thinking.

At first I thought that it would be fun to make a garland from ceramic beads and buttons bu sadly our molds were too big to use for this. Marmie suggested using wood beads instead and a new project was started.

I went to visit my Mom, I call her Marmie, the weekend before Thanksgiving. We went out to Graham’s Country Crafts in Petaluma and purchased a large bag of wood beads of assorted size and color. The colors were not Christmasy or exciting so we decided to paint them.

We went to Ace Hardware picked up a few cans or spray paint. We got metallic gold, metallic silver, glossy red, and glossy green.

Once we were back at her house we set the bead and paint on the table. After looking over what we had we came up with a plan. We got out bowls to sort the beads by size and color into and heavy fishing line to string the beads on.The sorting took a LONG time so we strung a few lines of beads and took them outside to spray.

Once they were sprayed we let them dry and went back to sorting and stringing. By the end of the day we had all the beads sorted and a few painted. The painting took a little while due to the rainy weather and some needing a second coat so Marmie painted them and had them ready at Thanksgiving. I wish that she had taken pictures of how she had them hanging in the house to dry. Since it was raining she had then hanging from the ceiling fans in the dining room to dry. Apparently she even painted her head a bit because she forgot to duck LOL…. Ooops!!

Now that the beads are painted it is time to string them together. I decided to pick up a few shiny beads from Hobby Lobby to add to the garland since I could not add glitter. Then we strung the beads on fishing line.

Here are the garlands all finished and shiny.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI could not wait to add it to the tree and I like the addition it makes to my tree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oops need to plug in the one cord of lights. Sorry folks!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

