Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Adventures in the Gingerbread House Village December 24, 2012

In 2010 Marmie through the first cupcake decorating party. It was a hit and spread like wildfire through our lives. Then Christmas 2010 we decided to decorate gingerbread houses instead of cupcakes. It was a blast! I can still remember the frosting fight I got into with my niece.

24957_385387367972_578982972_3706855_7278072_n

Last year we missed the party because of too many busy schedules so this year we planned ahead. We planned the date in October so that we would not accidentally plan other parties on that day. Of course I through a wrench in things by buying a house and planning to move the weekend we had planned.

Fate is on our side though!! I called my friend to reschedule and she was available December 22 but needed to focus on finding a baby sitter. I volunteered to babysit since I was the reason for the rescheduling.

On Friday night I drove down to my parents house in Santa Rosa. It is always nice to spend some time with my family, but to be honest I love to stay the night there and have Daddy serve me coffee in bed!!! It is so wonderful to watch him grumble while knowing he is smiling inside LOL!

Saturday morning we got up and started to prepare from everyone to arrive around 10:30. Of course we had to start early so everyone would have plenty of time to finished before the day was over! First thing Marmie and I did was set up the table with all the supplies that we had. My dad made cardboard molds for us to use for our houses. This gives us more room for creativity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then Marmie makes the frosting and we filled the decorating containers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis year was out first year having a gentleman decorate with us and he created a very interesting house

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The youngest of us created this house with a pond and she was so proud of is. I can not blame her either.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the rest of our village.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had a great time and can not wait to have our next creative party!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

One Response to “Adventures in the Gingerbread House Village”

  1. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this website, and post is in fact fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such articles or reviews.


Leave a Reply

