Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Planning 2013 Projects & Goals January 2, 2013

It is a new year and in so many ways, a fresh start for us. We are settled into the house and I am ready to get back on track. In the past I have set goals for myself in place of resolutions. Granted they have been easier things for me to achieve but  still it gives me a starting point for focusing on the things that I want.

In the spirit of the new year I have decided it is time for my goals as well as a list of projects that I would like to get completed this year. Our first full year in the house is starting now!

Writing goals can sometimes take me a little bit longer. When I was in the Future Farmers of America I attended some leadership conferences and they taught us many things, one of which was how to set good achievable goals. So now every time I go to set a goal I spend a bit of time thinking about the details. How long do I plan to give myself to achieve the goal? What steps will I need to take? What incentive do I have to achieve? etc.

For Example:

My goal is to be back in a size 14 pants by October 2013

Steps:

  1. go to the gym at least two nights a week
  2. walk the dog at least 5 days per week for 30 minutes
  3. research healthy recipes to make at home (also research healthy places to eat in case we go out)
  4. take stairs not elevator or escalator

Okay so that was an easy one but there are may goal setting worksheets that can be use.

Making a list of projects for 2013 is a lot easier for me =) Like…

  1. sew angry bird style birds for the niece and nephews
  2. complete the penguin bead banner
  3. reorganize Christmas decorations
  4. paint bathroom
  5. create bar area
  6. hang decorations and pictures in house
  7. use old cushions
  8. starting garden with 2 planter beds

I could keep going but that is a good start. What goals and projects do you plan on completing in 2013? Do you have any advice or tips to share?

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

