Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Reorganize Christmas Decoration Storage January 4, 2013

Over the years my holiday collection has grown. As a child we got two new ornaments each year so our ornament collections grew quite a bit. Then as I grew older I bought and received more decorations including my Rudolph Christmas Village.

When we moved into the house all the holiday boxes were stacked neatly against the wall in the garage. Unpacking them I realized just how many boxes I have and wondered how I was going to store them and consolidate boxes. Ash and I cleaned the garage and put the holiday boxes in the overhead storage shelves that were built into the garage. It gave us much more room to work on projects in the garage as well as a starting point for me.

Packing up the Christmas this year took me a bit  longer than I thought but it was worth it. I found two ornament storage boxes on clearance. The boxes are perfect size because they sit on top of the other storage boxes I have for Christmas utilizing more space. Then I removed all the strands of lights that I have, most of which I found do not even work and placed them in the storage shelf on the patio. They will be used in a future project.

My parents had given me the entire set of the Rudolph figurines, okay so they are really toys but I love them =). Using a Rudolph popcorn tin that I had cleaned out, I stored all the figurines in there. The tin also stacked on top of the other boxes in the garage.

Garage Christmas Storage

In total I reduced the Christmas enough that I now have 4 empty plastic storage bins to use for future organization. Now for the Christmas tree…

My Grandma gave us her old tree for us to use. I love it! It is tall and has loads of space for ornaments. With all my ornaments on the tree I still had room for more but it came in the original cardboard box which was falling apart from the move. I bought a tree storage bag but the bag is a bit big and I do not have any idea where to store it but on the floor of the garage. We love the tree and are thankful for it but I think that I need to do some research and find a tree that can be taken part to store in a smaller area =(

Christmas Tree in Storage Bag

Does anyone know of a tree that can be stored in a small space when not in use?

What decoration storage ideas can you share with me?

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

One Response to “Reorganize Christmas Decoration Storage”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Having read this I believed it was rather informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!


Leave a Reply

