Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Photo Organization on the Computer January 9, 2013

Filed under: Adventures in Project Land — Colli @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

Back up and storage of photos on a computer or in an office has a lot of options. I have seen many blogs discussing it. After reading other blogs I decided that my method was working for me and I wanted to keep doing it, well maybe with some changes.

We have a Mac computer so I use iPhoto to store all the pictures. Once a month I back up the photos to an external hard drive in case the computer crashes. In the past I lost a lot of pictures that way and used to save on CD as a back up. Loss of boxes during a move stopped that method for me. External hard drives seem to be the best fit for me.

I organize all the photos on the computer by event and ensure that all dates are accurate, then I add notes of who is in each picture and where it is taken. This gives me the information later when I am scrapbooking, in case I forget.

Photo from Apple website

I create photo albums on the computer of all events that I have not printed for scrapbooking. There are times when I do not get to print pictures for months at a time whether it be because of schedule or finances. When I do go to print them I know exactly which to print so it saves me a lot of time.

Due to this system working so well, I was able to retrieve pictures from my parents computer that I did not have. Now I am happy to say that I have all my pictures in order and all scrapbooking caught up for now.

Next project is to scan all the pictures that my parents have on film and slides. My Mom wants to create a powerpoint for Thanksgiving… guess I better get moving for her.

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

