Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Functional Living Room Space March 13, 2013

In our house the living room is combined with the dining room. This made it a bit odd for me to arrange and decorate.

Living Room

Since I was a teenager I had been collecting furniture so that when I ended up living in a house I would have furniture and not have to buy it all at once. Unfortunately some of the pieces that I was given were on the bulky side so when we moved into a small house they made it feel smaller and cramped as you can see from the picture. Of course in the picture I have the christmas tree up. I forgot to take pictures of the room before the changes, but to help visualize the recliner is now where the tree was.

One day I was sitting in the living room reading, or trying to. Truth be told I was staring off into space and thinking about how to improve the room. The chair I was in faced the windows looking out into our front yard. I noticed that the wall felt bare but there was not much space to do anything with it. First I thought that we should build bookshelves into the wall so that we could use the space more effectively.

But then on one trip into Home Depot I found the shelves that I wanted! Home Depot carries the Martha Stewart stackable 9 cube shelves.

9 cube storage shelve

I wrote down the measurements of the shelves and went home to see if they would fit where I wanted them. They measurements were perfect! When the weekend came I went back to Home Depot to buy them and I was so excited!! They had one of the display units on clearance and it included three of the fabric drawers for free. Normally the drawers are about $7 each so I was pleased.

I bought the display and a new one, which I would put together once I got home. Getting everything home was an interesting adventure. We live about a mile from Home Depot and I had measured that cabinets to be sure they would fit at home but forgot to measure my car. The display shelf slid into my truck but I could not close it. Driving home at 5 miles per house and being sure not to hit any bumps was laughable!

The shelves went together nicely with the help of a friend. I took all of the books from the two bulky cabinets and arranged them in the new shelves. Once the cabinet in the spare room was empty I took it out to the garage. I moved the cabinet from the living room into the spare room. This opened up the living room a lot!

The wall where the cabinet had been was empty and it did not look right to me. I brought out a dresser from the spare room and filled it with all my crafting. Across the top I displayed all of our scrap books. Previously all of this was in the closet of the spare room and a bit awkward to get to if I wanted to use it or share with anyone.

Living Room with Bookshelves

This is our rethought living room! I am pleased with the changes and so happy with the way it is coming together. It is a small space so it looks full but it is comfortable to us.

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

