Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Kitchen Update Phase 1: Planning the Backsplash April 3, 2013

I talked before about how I was looking for ways to make my kitchen more homey. I think that I finally might have a place to start!

I had been trying to find fabric to make curtains and a skirt for the bakers rack with no luck. My Mom asked me what was the theme or vision for the room… that made me pause… I knew that I wanted red, flowers, a country feel and a way to incorporate the metal towel rack that she had given me but how…

I thought about that conversation with my mom for weeks after that. Finally I made a decision…

While I was running through this conversation I came across a blog about painting your own back splash by All Things Thrifty. I love reading her blog and seeing what ideas she has as well as the challenges that they overcome! But now that the idea of painting the back splash is in my head I can not seem to get it out. Which I will admit is not a bad thing because we are planning to remodel in the next 5 years so I would not want to do a tile now. But what pattern should I do?

I looked at some images of back splashes online and did not see one that I liked. The one pattern that I kept thinking about was a brick wall pattern. I do not want it dark but the more I thought about it I decided that I needed to tape the design on the wall so that I could visualize it.

pattern taped on kitchen wall

I decided to make some of the design larger because making it smaller did not look right on my wall. Using rectangles and squares I came up with my “brick” pattern. The square areas are where I am going to stencil the flowers. I could also add the flower to my cabinet doors… hmmmm… painting the cabinets will have to wait for now but always trying to think about the big picture.

The pattern is in place and I like it so time for the next step choosing the colors and painting the wall. I know that I can get samples colors from Home Depot for about $3 each but they are a flat finish which does not appeal to me in the kitchen. My sister, Maureen, told me about the paint department at Wal-Mart. They sell small sample size containers of paint in any finish for about the same cost. Now I love Wal-Mart for some things but I was a bit nervous about paint. Even though I was nervous I decided to give it a try. I meant I really do not have much to lose. If the paint does not stay then I will know for next time and just have to wait patiently for the remodel. If it does stay  then I can use it again to paint the walls once the remodel it done.

Now time to go and buy the paint and have some fun… I will show you what how it looks as I progress.

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

One Response to “Kitchen Update Phase 1: Planning the Backsplash”

  1. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!


Leave a Reply

