Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Kitchen Update Phase 2: Painting the Back Splash April 5, 2013

The planning phase of the project went well until I went to buy the paint. I went to the Wal-Mart’s in my area and found that they no longer have a paint counter. The closest one is about 30 minutes away. But I did not let this get in my way!

To Home Depot I went! At the paint counter I picked out 4 colors of paint that I wanted to paint the wall design and ordered the same sizes. Talking to the paint attendant, not sure if that is the right title but it works for me, I described what I was planning and got some input on sealing the wall once it is painted. They suggested a clear seal that would still give the semi-gloss sheen to the wall.

All of my paint in hand it is time to go home and paint! I am so excited!!!

Back in the kitchen I laid out the paints and brushes that I would be using and cleared all the counter tops to that I had clear work space.

Painting the Kitchen has Started

Once I get started painting I am immediately pleased with the colors and my vision coming to life! The rich red, brown and green match my Denby dishes and give the room a warm country kitchen feeling. as you can see I also decided to take the design to the floor. The look flowed smoother with it reaching the floor.

Once the paint dries I removed the tape and prepared to start stenciling the flowers. It is so pretty! I am so proud of myself, what do you think?

Tape removed and stencils done

I am very pleased with the walls so far but I still think that it is missing something. But what is it that I want to add? Should I smooth out the lines or add another color?

For more of where I get my creativity from visit my Mom’s site Design by Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

