Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Straight from Mom….. End Table Update Completed! July 3, 2013

My projects are moving right along, slowly though.  Building up my stamina too!  Where I used to fall asleep at 7pm, after getting up at 3:30am, I now can stay up until 8:30pm. and be fresh in the morning.   Amazing how many more things get finished in just that hour and a half!  LOL.  It will definitely come in handy when the weather turns super hot and is still light out at 9pm.

The small, but tall, table I was going to refurbish has been slowly transforming.  It is now painted, the wood wasn’t stain grade unfortunately.  But, when you are dealing with a free piece of furniture who is complaining!

ImageI originally was going to have Steven attach an extra 16″ floor tile we had laying around.  I am prone to changing course when the mood strikes, a irritating habit to Steven I might add he he he.  After staring at the tile on top, I was concerned it would be too easily toppled over, being too top heavy.  Sound reasoning, huh?  So, I asked Steven, of course I asked Steven, if he could make me a routed edged new wood top, just a little bigger than the existing one.  Wow, did he ever!  It is beautiful and stain grade to boot!

I have burned a nice, simple patterns to the edge………………………………..

Image

Then, he applied the stain to finish it up……………………………….

Image

Just perfect!  I can’t wait to see the two pieces become one finished piece.  I am so pleased that we had no detours, road blocks, or catastrophes either.  Sometimes your the hammer, and sometimes your the nail.  I am so happy to report I was the hammer this time around!

Image

Just perfect to hold 2 cups of coffee and a plate of pastries between our chairs on the deck!  You know where I will be soon…………………….. Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

