Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Straight from Mom…..Project Linus Blankets July 26, 2013

Filed under: Straight from Mom — designbycyn @ 8:17 am
Tags: , ,

In the past, oh I don’t know, 10-15 years I have be unable to sit down and watch television or Netfliks without something to keep my hands busy.  Hands busy you ask?  Yeah, I have to be crocheting or cross stitching while viewing or I will end up with chewed hands!   I don’t even realize I am chewing either, my fingers are so sore the next day it is ridiculous.

I am so grateful I found the “Linus Project“.  They provide hand made blankets to so many organizations it is astounding!  Their mission is simple: to provide love, a sense of security, warmth and comfort to children who are seriously ill, traumatized, or otherwise in need. We do this by giving them gifts of new, handmade blankets and afghans, lovingly created for Project Linus by volunteer “blanketeers.”  I became a blanketeer just over two years and 11 afghans ago.  My hands are never idol now!  I have a reason to keep crocheting.  There are only so many afghans you can make for yourself, friends and family, LOL.   The pleasure of knowing they are being received by folks who really benefit from all the love sewn into them is just frosting on the cake.

Now, my friends and family are constantly on the lookout for yarn in need of a home.  Over half of the yarn in the afghans I have made was given to me.  By word of mouth, they heard what I was up to and brought me yarn to play with.  Not a single thread is wasted……………………

Image

This one was made from all the scraps that I just couldn’t throw away.  So glad I saved it all, this has to be one of my favorite afghans ever!  I had a supremely hard time letting this one go.

Image

This one was made entirely with yarn given to me.  A friend of my Aunt was cleaning out a closet and found a bag of yarn that she gave to me.  The adult afghans take much more yarn and time to complete, so I try to make one for every two toddler/baby afghans I make.

Image

This afghan was a compilation of some squares my Grandma had started before she passed away.  I found  some yarn that complimented the colors she had started and finished it.  That one had so much love sewn into it, the warmth of that blanket was very special indeed.

Image

This is my go to pattern, I just love this one.  I have made many lately in varying color combos.  This particular one was also hard to let go, it matches the color scheme in our house.

With the need for these handmade blankets so high, not a skein of yarn is wasted.  I am always looking to the next afghan even before I finish the one in progress.  So very nice to have a reason to keep crocheting!  Cyn

 

Leave a Reply

