Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Sleepless Night September 23, 2013

Filed under: Life's Precious Moments — Colli @ 10:32 am
Tags: , ,

Do you have trouble sleeping when your significant other is not home? Or maybe you have just had one of those nights when you just can’t sleep?

Last night was one of those nights for me! My husband Ashlin left Sunday morning for a business trip in Texas. After dropping him off at the airport, at around 10 am, I went home to prepare for the remainder of my day.

  1. Go online to look at my coupons, compare prices and plan which stores I will buy certain items at.
  2. Buy dog food, new rope toy and training halter.
  3. Clean the house (deep clean of all surface, nooks and crannies)
  4. Laundry (clothes, curtains, pillow cases, blankets, rugs, towels)
  5. Buy fencing for the garden
  6. Decorate for autumn
  7. Put away all crafting items in their proper place

Once I had my lists prepared it was time to get moving.  I stopped at Starbucks for a coffee and hit the road running. With all the people in the stores, the lines and the traffic on the road, I did not get the first task done till around 1 pm.

With all the groceries put away, I took a few minutes to play with the dogs and try the training halter on Rosco. It was amazing! Okay, so you might need a bit of the back story to understand why I thought that it was amazing. Rosco is a puppy but a large and muscular one. When we tried to take him for walks he would pull so far that it was a workout to keep him close to us. This is obviously not a good behavior or good for our bodies either. After talking to my parents and doing some research, I decided to buy a training halter. When I put it on and started to walk him he was walking calm and close by. Hence my feeling of amazement!

With the dogs happy and tired from play, I set to the task of cleaning the house. I don’t know about you but I love cleaning! Once I get moving I get into a groove and time flies. Last night was no exception! Before I knew it, it was 8 pm and Ash was calling me to say good night =)

Does not sound to bad at this point, right? The next time I saw the clock it was 3 am and I was still wide awake. Knowing that I needed some sleep I went to lay down in bed and listen to more of my audio book.

It felt good to lay in the bed all cuddled into the blankets but not right. The room was too quiet and the bed not as warm. I missed Ash! Finally at about 6:30 am I fell asleep and woke with the alarm that tells me it is time to leave for work.

Last night and this morning my mind was wondering why I could not sleep. I know that Ash was not home but it is not the first time that we have spent the night apart. I wonder if it was because most of the previous nights we have spent apart I was at my parents house?

Have you had any nights like this? Do you have any insight for me?

Crossing my fingers and praying that I can get some sleep tonight!

 

Leave a Reply

