Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

The Fate of the Wall Heater Decided December 13, 2013

Filed under: Adventures in Project Land — Colli @ 12:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

The gas wall heater unit we have it the original one from the house being built-in the 1950’s. Sadly, the heater doesn’t work properly.

Wall Heater.jpg

See the wall unit on the right side of the picture.

This is a view of one side of the heater. It has the same casing on the opposite side of the wall. The inside space is all the pipes and controls. The controls inside the heater are broken so it puts out heat but only directly around the heater. No warm air makes it into the bathroom, bedrooms or the rest of the living space. For this reason I have shut off the gas to it and we are planning on removing it.

The decision to remove it came after I decided that I wanted to use the wall space for another project, which I am not mentioning so that I can hold you in suspense. Oh okay, you caught me that is not the reason. The reason I am not saying is because I have a vague idea but it might change.

Now the question is, how do we remove the wall unit? How to we dispose of it? Is this something that we can do or do we need a professional? The first place I go to the answers in my Dad.

After talking with my Dad I found out that we could remove it but it would be a tricky process. If we can arrange time for my Dad to help us then we should be able to remove it ourself, if not then we will have to hire a professional. I am going to start making calls so that I can determine the cost of disposal and the cost of a professional doing the entire job. I would like to get as much information as I can so that I am prepared. Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

