Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Returning to Normal January 27, 2014

Filed under: Life's Precious Moments — Colli @ 3:56 pm

Thank you everyone for your warm wishes and prayers! This month has been hard on the family but I am glad that Poppi is in peace.

The funeral for the family and friends in Fresno was very emotional for all of us. Grandma asked us all to wear color, no black because we were celebrating his life. But the true celebration was the Irish Wake my brother and cousin gave him. After the funeral we all went to Grandma’s house to eat some food and share stories. My father, brother-in law, cousin, husband and brother shared a few bottles of whiskey in his memory. It was very touching and memorable. We memorable to most of us, some bits are a bit fuzzy to my brother and cousin =D!

The following weekend was the memorial in Santa Rosa, CA. Honestly, I thought that it was going to be easier to attend this memorial than the funeral. I was so wrong. It was held in the church I grew up attending with my Grandparents so when Father Shaw started the service I started to fall apart. My mother held me while I cried. I always knew she was a strong woman but I now know that she is so much stronger than I ever dreamed before. That is saying something because  before the funeral and memorial services, she was the strongest woman I know. Now I know she is stronger. I hope that makes sense.

After the memorial there was  food served and then my parents and I went to my Great Aunt Julie’s house to spend time with family that we have not seen in a long time. It was a good night and very healing for us all. But now it is time to return to life.

To be honest I am having a hard time with this. Every time I started to have a good day or get things accomplished, I would fall apart for some reason or another. The stress of the emotions has weakened me to sickness so the struggle to regain myself is slow going.

So forgive me for my absence and have patience with me while I get back to the projects and crafts that I love. I will be sharing some with you soon.

 

Leave a Reply

