Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Sunday Quilt Mania March 12, 2014

Last week on Sunday I made the cat quilt. When I was done I just could not stop……. I bought more fabric, then made one and two half quilts. Two half quilts? OK probably not the proper way to explain that. So let me tell you about all the ones I made/started on and hopefully it will make more sense.

First I made one with one piece of fabric for the front and one for the back. It was very simple but I love the fabric. It is the same pattern at the duvet cover I had before.

Then I started on the front of another quilt. 20140303-154240.jpgThe fabrics were dog themed this time.

20140303-154232.jpg

With added flowers for more fun!

puppy, puppies, puppy quilt, DIY, handmade quilt, Project Linus, donation, unique, pink, brown, flowers

I added some solid color for the remaining squares so it was not over. The front turned out cute!

puppy, puppies, puppy quilt, DIY, handmade quilt, Project Linus, donation, unique, pink, brown, flowers

I have not decided on the fabric for the back so I started on another quilt. This one is still animal themed but not dog or cat. It is a wild wood animal theme.

Owl, Rabbit, Fox, Hedgehog, fabric, wild animals, woods, quilt, DIY, handmade quilt

Foxes and Owls.

20140303-154304.jpg

Of course the mushrooms and acorns are a fun touch too!

acorns, mushrooms, brown, Owl, Rabbit, Fox, Hedgehog, fabric, wild animals, woods, quilt, DIY, handmade quilt

The front went together quickly because at this point I was in a groove!

Owl, Rabbit, Fox, Hedgehog, fabric, wild animals, woods, quilt, DIY, handmade quilt

I can not wait to go shopping for the backing fabric and share the finished blankets with you!

 

4 Responses to “Sunday Quilt Mania”

  1. […] 4 blankets. I originally thought that this would take me all year but I was wrong. After my weekend quilting mania a few weeks ago, and the finishing of those quilts, I have already donated 4 […]

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Do you remember where you bought these fabrics…woodland creatures/forest animals, mushrooms, and the fox/bunny/owl/hedgehog/squirrel fabric? I found a FQ set at Joann Fabrics, but no yardage. My selvedges had no further information! I have looked everywhere…a friend found the fabric on your blog. If possible, do you recall the name of the fabric line? Thanks so much for any info you might have! It is such cute fabric. (My set of FQs also included a matching blue fabric and fall leaves.)

    Leslie B.
    St. Peters, MO

  3. Leslie Blanchard Says:

    I recently bought a FQ pack at Joann Fabrics…have been looking everywhere to find yardage but could not identify the manufacturer from the selvedge edges of the FQs that I have. Found your blog after a google search…looking for the collection name and/or where you purchased the fabric: Forest Animals/Woodland Creatures (you used), Fox/Owl/Rabbit/Hedgehog/Squirrel (you used), mushrooms (you used), and also oak leaves and blue with leaf design that seem to be part of the collection. Any information you could provide would be appreciated!!!!!! Thanks.

    • Colli Says:

      I bought the fabric at Joann’s. It was a prepackaged bundle but I saw some fun fabrics with are similar at Hancock Fabrics and Hobby Lobby. I will try to find the links and share them.


Leave a Reply

