Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Pallet Planter Boxes Started April 2, 2014

Filed under: Adventures in Project Land — Colli @ 9:10 am

I have seen a lot of blogs and articles online about reusing pallets for many things. One that I like was using them to make planter boxes. Reusing and recycling things it one thing that I love to do! The project stayed on my mind for a few weeks so I decided to give it a try.

First step was to collect pallets to use. At first I thought that it was going to take me forever to find the pallets needed to make the bed for the garden but I got lucky. The place we bought our firewood from has a stack and they were giving them away.

On Saturday, I loaded the truck full of them and went home to get started.

20140328-061743.jpg

The next step was to detach all the wood. Removing all screws, nails and staples from the wood strips. At first I started pulling them all apart using a hammer. Then when I realized I was exhausted after one pallet I was forced to rethink my strategy. I asked Ash to come out and cut the ends off the pallets. This made it a bit easier because I just needed to detach the wood from the center. After two days of working on this project I have taken three apart. It is not as easy as it looked. Oh well… I will do a little at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

