Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Survived First Grooming Appointment July 10, 2014

Filed under: The Dogs — Colli @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I love my animals! They are my children. Dixie is the eldest and she loves to roll in the dirt. My family calls her Ms. Piggy or Pigpen LOL!

She has never been a problem to wash. Dixie will load herself in the bathtub and stand there while you wash her. Of course she will shake the water everywhere as soon as your done but as long as you close the shower curtain it is not so bad.

Poor Dixie was always itchy and shedding. I did research to ensure that I did not over/under wash her but it made no difference. Finally I found a place I trusted, The Honest Dog in Sacramento CA. We buy all of our pet supplies from them and the owner Pamela is the honest, knowledgeable and helpful.

On Sunday morning Ash and I loaded up the dogs. We dropped off Dixie for her appointment. She was so nervous I was worried that she was not going to handle the appointment. The three of us left while she was being cleaned so that she would relax and listen to the groomers. The weather was still nice out, not over 90 yet, so we walked across the street to Starbucks for a treat. Rosco did pretty well drinking water from a glass but he really wanted to eat the cup instead. A young girl and boy came out and asked if they could pet Rosco. I looked to the parents for approval, once received we said ok. Rosco put his head next to Ash’s knee and did not lift his head or move it around at all. I was so proud of him!! Once our coffees were empty we walked back to the store.

Inside Ash and I looked at a couple of things and Rosco laid on the cool floor. I was pleased to get compliments on Rosco’s behavior from other in the store. He is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier Mix and most people just assume he is a Pit Bull so they should fear him. That was not the response we got at the Honest Dog and it was a comfort. We waited for another 15 minute and we were considering what to do because I did not know how long the process took, when I small dog started barking and pulling toward Rosco. At first he was wagging his tail wanting to play but then the dog tried to lung forward to bite him and Rosco growled and backed up to us. We took him outside and then Ash checked on Dixie, who still had about 30 minutes remaining.

I was starting to relax a bit because if Dixie had made it this long then she must be handling it well. Honestly, I do not know why I ever worry when it comes to her! She has always been so easy-going and allowing of anything.

Ash had plans later in the afternoon, he was with me for emotional support, so it came time to consider options. Dixie and I were doing well with this new adventure so I decided that Rosco and I would drop him off while we waited. The drive to drop Ash off was only about 5 minutes and I noticed that Rosco was still hot and panting so I took him home. Once we got there he laid down on the floor and did not move.

Hot Rosco

Poor guy was worn out but he behaved so good!! About 20 minutes later, Rosco’s breathing was back to normal and he was snoring when my phone rang. Dixie was done and ready to come home!

Leaving Rosco at home to sleep, I went to pick up Dixie. She came walking out from the back looking shinny and smiling. I was so happy to see her. I know I know, it was only like an hour and a half but it felt like longer =) The groomer told me that Dixie was the best Rotweiller she has worked with. They gave her a treat and lots of puts. She was so soft! I have not felt her that soft, without loads of shedding, in a long time. It kind of made me ashamed that I had not started this sooner.

Dixie GroomedBeing groomed but have took a lot of energy for Dixie because when we got hom she passed out next to Rosco.

20140706-210916-76156272.jpgAsh and I are pleased that she is healthy, shedding less and less itchy! She will continue to be groomed avery few months from now on. I learned a lesson and if/when we ever get a medium or long hair dog again, we will start grooming at much younger age!

 

Leave a Reply

