Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Fresh Yard ~ Ready for Summer! May 5, 2016

Filed under: Gardening — Colli @ 12:22 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was feeling energetic and antsy a few weeks ago so I decided to use all the energy on my front yard. First thing I did was weed the planters and some of the walkways. Then I pruned the trees and plants, removing dead limbs and blooms.

There was a couple of items I needed from the store to finish this so I went to our new Harbor Freight. I found more things than were originally on my list such as a weed killer sprayer and a battery LED light for my shed. Since I had the sprayer I decided to stop next door at my favorite Home Depot to get the weed killer concentrate. That proves to be a dangerous choice!

The bark I use in the front yard to control weeds and give it a nice visual appeal was on sale 5 for $10. $2 per bag, UNREAL!! I loaded up 15 bags of the black bark and took it home to update the planters. My new plan was to spray the week killer and fill in some blank places that needed bark.

At home I did just that and then started to clean up the back yard. Trees trimmed, weeds pulled and spiders killed. When I was finished I had pretty much filled the trash, recycling and yard bins. Ash was not overly happy about that because it meant that they were full until the upcoming Friday. OOOPS!

When I was done working in the yard about 6pm I stood looking out at the front yard feeling accomplished but not finished yet. The new bark that I put out was nice and dark black, making it stand out from the rest. It was not pleasing to look at, at least for me. I spoke with Ash about it and asked him how he would feel about me updating the bark in the yard. Maybe putting new brown over the walk ways to make them look nice and clean against the new black. He told me to do whatever made me happy. Got to love my husband!!

Sunday morning I got up early and went to Home Depot again. This time I loaded up on 20 black bark and 15 of the brown bark. Ok, so I didn’t load it, the loader at Home Depot did. He had some doubts that it was all going to fit into my Ford Edge but in the end it all fit.

20160417_085337 20160417_085357 20160417_085404

This much bark, it had to cover my whole yard, right? Well no, not all but close to all. I went back for another load of 8 brown and 15 black bark bags. It did not fill the car as full this time so the loader was a bit happier. Although he still teased me for how often I am at the store. When all the bark was put out all the hard work, multiple trips and hot sun were sooo worth it!

20160417_183045

20160417_183021

I am amazed everyday how much the yard has grown and changed since we bought the house. The feelings of accomplishment and satisfaction were well-earned this time!

………but I was not done yet. There was still sun in the sky and a few more things to do around the house. I moved the back yard and created a nice sitting area by the window of the shed.

20160417_120033Now I was done and ready to go spend the afternoon with my hubby.

 

Leave a Reply

