Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

Revitalising Back Yard July 21, 2016

Filed under: Adventures in Project Land — Colli @ 9:21 am

Well, I shared with you that our Washington trip was cancelled and that the bark was on sale at Home Depot. I decided that since I needed to stay close to the house in case Ash needed me, but I wanted to be productive, it was time to rebark the back yard. I know that it has been a little less than 1 year since we got the load of free bark which the guys spread out across the yard, but it was time for new.

I found that I can fit 30 bags of bark in my car so I got it loaded and went home to work. Once I started to spread out the bark, I noticed a temperature change. the darkness of the bark was making the air feel cooler. After the first load of 30 bags was put out I had a corner of the yard done.

Second load almost finished the brown bark part of the yard but more black and brown were needed so I went back for three. I did not get it all put out because of my shoulder but I am proud of how much I did in the three day weekend.

Damion came over and emptied the remaining bags of bark from my car, placing them in the yard for easier spreading. No further work was done during the week because my shoulder needed rest and recovery. Then the following weekend I got it all finished, including mowing the small lawn and adding drip line to the new plants.

It is amazing to look back at how the yard looked when we moved it in comparison to now.

 

Leave a Reply

