Creative DIY Like Mother Like Daughter

Creative DIY Projects

New Flower Garden has Begun August 18, 2016

Filed under: Adventures in Project Land — Colli @ 8:00 am

After fighting a losing battle  of planting flowers in the backyard to the dogs, I have come up with a new strategy….I decided to make a small backyard flower oasis. Ash will still have space to expand the patio and make this outdoor kitchen area and the dogs will still have space to move and play. I plan to move my tall patio table set to the small yard where the shed is and an an umbrella then plant some fun colorful flowers. 

Ironic that the area originally started out as a dog pen but things chance. Plus I was running out of room in the front yard and on the patio. 😆

Before I even had time to love the table I started planting. I got a couple of pots. Plastic for now because my Mom was not available to go with me to buy nice ones. I know you may be asking why I could not go without her and that is a valid question. I made a promise to my Mom that I would not go to our new favorite nursery in Sacramento without her. Well at least not to buy flower pots LOL.

In each pot I planted a taller plant and a couple plants that will grow to fill in and drop over the sides. In the corner of the yard by the patio I planted a pomegranate bush that my friend gave me. Around the pots I planted some salvia, canna and day lilies. I love those 3 plants.


In over to get a more space accurate plan in place I has Ash help me move the table and chairs into the yard. We also found a third chair that is similar to add to the set so that they have are 3 chairs now. 


I finally added a plant to the window box of the shed, a succulent plant, and moved a couple of my patio pots into the shade provided by the shed. To be honest I will probably move things around a bit more before they find their final place but that is part of the fun.

During our last trip to my parents house we went out to a couple nurseries. Shocker, I know right!?! During this trip I picked up some new interesting flowers for the new garden and Ash picked out a climbing rose bush. He would like the combing rose planted ont he fence that runs by our bedroom window. It currently has potato vine growing on it but it is not filling in as the Passion flower vine of the other option of fence. You can see the difference in the fence lines just by looking at the picture here.

So he thought that the rose could grow in to cover the metal wire fence while also looking beautiful. I always ask him for his opinion and I was happy to have it on this. Of course I made him pick the color roses while he was at it lol! Really how could I not have him pick since it was his idea heee heee. As much as I would have loved to plant them right away, we did not get home till late from my parents house, as usual which for the record I love. When the weekend came I was more then ready to plant. But I made myself do the maintenance to the front yard first. Weeds needed to be pulled and plants needed to be trimmed. Thankfully I love the work and it did not take too long. The front yard has changed so much since I started that it makes me smile when I see it. 

Moving to the back yard was exciting. I placed the new plants in location, reviewed the sun/shade requirements to ensure they would be happy and got to planting. The ground was a bit hard because it was not getting watered since it was changed to drip line but that was ok. I watered the area with a sprinkler and worked on over maintenance in the mean time such as cleaning up the remaining branches from prunning the butterfly bushes and re working the drip line so all the plants are getting water. While working I noticed that my raspberry shortcake bush, which is a raspberry bush that is thornless and grows in a pot, was not getting enough sun so I moved it to a new home in the yard as well. Working in the yard is envigorating and exhausting exercise at the same time. I was a sweaty dirty mess when the weekend was done but progress it being made. 



I was not able to get everything done due to the heat but it was a great start. Only have 4 plants left to plant. One is still recovering in a pot from the first transplant so it might stay that way for a while.

Now I need Marmie to come visit so we can get some pots and then I need to start placing bark around the new flowers. For now I will content myself with the progress I have made and start working on growing some of my plants for seeds. Didn’t have much luck last time but that is not going to stop me from trying again.

 

Leave a Reply

